GIOTTO di Bondone
(b. 1267, Vespignano, d. 1337, Firenze)

Description and location of the Legend of St Francis fresco cycle

Upper Church, San Francesco, Assisi

The decoration of the Upper Church was planned from the very beginning to conclude with the Legend of St Francis on the lower walls.

The St. Francis cycle is usually dated after 1296 (Vasari records that the cycle was commissioned by Giovanni da Murro, who only became General of the Franciscans in 1296). However, according to some experts, the cycle was painted earlier.

Scenes of the cycle:

1. Homage of a Simple Man

2. St Francis Giving his Mantle to a Poor Man

3. Dream of the Palace

4. Miracle of the Crucifix

5. Renunciation of Wordly Goods

6. Dream of Innocent III

7. Confirmation of the Rule

8. Vision of the Flaming Chariot

9. Vision of the Thrones

10. Exorcism of the Demons at Arezzo

11. St Francis before the Sultan (Trial by Fire)

12. Ecstasy of St Francis

13. Institution of the Crib at Greccio

14. Miracle of the Spring

15. Sermon to the Birds

16. Death of the Knight of Celano

17. St Francis Preaching before Honorius III

18. Apparition at Arles

19. Stigmatization of St Francis

20. Death and Ascension of St Francis

21. Apparition to Fra Agostino and to Bishop Guido of Arezzo

22. Verification of the Stigmata

23. St. Francis Mourned by St. Clare

24. Canonization of St Francis

25. Dream of St Gregory

The last three scenes of the cycle (26. The Confession of a Woman raised from the Dead, 27. The Liberation of the Repentant Heretic, 28. The Legend of Francis) are usually attributed to the St Cecilia Master.