MEIT, Conrad
(b. ca. 1480, Worms, d. 1550, Antwerpen)

Tomb of Margaret of Austria (detail)

White marble
Church of Brou, Bourg-en-Bresse

Archduchess Margaret of Austria (1480-1530), Princess of Asturias and Duchess of Savoy by her two marriages, was Governor of the Habsburg Netherlands from 1507 to 1515 and again from 1519 to 1530. Her first husband was John, Prince of Asturias, who died after six months of marriage in 1497. In 1501, Margaret married Philibert II, Duke of Savoy (1480–1504), who died three years later. This marriage had been childless as well. After his death, she vowed never to marry again. Her court historian and poet Jean Lemaire de Belges gave her the title "Dame de deuil" (Lady of Mourning).

The portrait of Margaret of Austria as a young princess was executed by the Master of Moulins. Her portrait as a widow was painted by Bernaert van Orley.

© Web Gallery of Art, created by Emil Krén and Daniel Marx.