SOLARI, Pietro Antonio
(b. ca. 1445, Carona, d. 1493, Moscow)

General view

1490
Photo
Konstantino-Eleninskaya Tower, Kremlin, Moscow

The Kremlin Wall is a defensive wall that surrounds the Moscow Kremlin, recognizable by the characteristic notches and its towers. The original walls were likely a simple wooden fence with guard towers built in 1156. The Kremlin is flanked by 19 towers with a 20th, the Koutafia Tower, not part of its walls.

To date twenty towers survived, highlighting the walls. Built at a different time, the oldest one, Tainitskaya dates to 1485 whilst the newest one, Tsarskaya to 1680. Three of the towers, located in the corners of the castle have unique circular profiles. From the ground level it is only possible to enter six of the towers, the rest only from the walls.

The Konstantino-Eleninskaya Tower is a tower on the eastern wall of the Kremlin, overlooking the so-called Basil Descent, which begins at the Red Square and ends at the Moscow River. The tower was built in 1490 by Pietro Antonio Solari on the spot of gates to the white stone Kremlin. It was named after the Church of Constantine and Helene in the Kremlin (second half of the 17th century), which would be demolished by the Soviets in 1928. The Konstantino-Eleninskaya Tower had its own gates and a lift bridge, protected by guards at all times. In the late 18th century-early 19th century the gates were bricked up and the bridge was dismantled. The tower's height is 36.8 metres.




© Web Gallery of Art, created by Emil Krén and Daniel Marx.