(b. 1445, Firenze, d. 1510, Firenze)
Detached fresco, 243 x 555 cm
Galleria degli Uffizi, Florence
This fresco originally hung over the entrance of San Martino della Scala, a hospital for those stricken with the plague. It was probably erected in gratitude for the end of the bout of plague which had been raging in Florence since 1478. According to a contemporary inscription, the year 1479 saw the burial in the hospital's cemetery of 20,000 victims of the plague.
The refinement of the colours and impressive composition of the pictorial space are still captivating features, despite the considerable damage that the work suffered in the 17th century. It was taken down in 1920 and moved to the Uffizi.