(active 1493-1499 in Russia)

General view

Troitskaya Tower, Kremlin, Moscow

The Kremlin Wall is a defensive wall that surrounds the Moscow Kremlin, recognizable by the characteristic notches and its towers. The original walls were likely a simple wooden fence with guard towers built in 1156. The Kremlin is flanked by 19 towers with a 20th, the Koutafia Tower, not part of its walls.

To date twenty towers survived, highlighting the walls. Built at a different time, the oldest one, Tainitskaya dates to 1485 whilst the newest one, Tsarskaya to 1680. Three of the towers, located in the corners of the castle have unique circular profiles. From the ground level it is only possible to enter six of the towers, the rest only from the walls.

Four gate towers exist, all crowned with ruby stars, they are Spasskaya, Borovitskaya, Troitskaya and Nikolskaya.

The Troitskaya Tower (Trinity Tower) is a tower with a through-passage in the centre of the northwestern wall of the Moscow Kremlin. It is the tallest tower of the Moscow Kremlin (80 metres). It was built by the Italian Aloisio da Carcano. The Troitsky Bridge leads to the gates of the Troitskaya Tower which is now the main visitors' entrance into the Kremlin.

The photo shows the Troitskaya Tower.